Silver Gull (Larus novaehollandiae) – St Kilda Beach

I think this first image might be a youngish gull as the beak colour looks more brown than reddish (like the adults have), although it doesn’t have the brown tips on its wings like a juvenile..  The second image (if you can see the bird that is), is one of the few times I’ve got a flying seagull in reasonable focus.  It’s a bit easier to photograph them coming in to land or taking off as they’re flying much slower.   I’d say the shot was more luck than skill. 

I’m still trying to rest my injured left thumb a bit, so haven’t been out to take photos for a few days.  Hope to be out & about more next week, or even the weekend (if its fine enough).

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

